SAISA Sailing

2021-22 All-SAISA Awards

May 2, 2022: SAISA Conference superlatives return for the 2021-2022 college sailing season and we are happy to spotlight outstanding performances by student-athletes all across our conference. Once again, a volunteer committee studiously reviewed regatta results and individual sailor performances over the two seasons in review (Fall 21/Spring 22). Working closely to identify and recognize outstanding performance and competitive contributions made by SAISA student-athletes, the All-SAISA Committee selected superlatives in Open (coed) SkipperWomen’s Skipper, and Open and Women’s crew. The committee also reviewed nominations for SAISA Outstanding Sportsmanship Award, Student-Leader of the Year as well as the Coach of the Year which will be announced in the next few days.

All-SAISA award nominees were selected based on results throughout the college sailing year, with consideration of quality and quantity of events sailed. Special emphasis was also placed on competition and results in high-level SAISA events i.e. SAISA-hosted interconference events, SAISA Conference Championships. Additionally, crews were selected with consideration in competing in both Women’s and Open categories. Crews who dramatically improved the results of the people they sailed with were also considered. Seniority and leadership were used as tie-breaking factors.

Please recognize and congratulate this the 2021-2022 All-SAISA Award winners: 

All-SAISA Open Skippers: First Team

Max Anker, College of Charleston
Brandon Geller, College of Charleston
Scott Harris, NC State University
Matthew King, Jacksonville University
Atlee Kohl, University of Miami
Adam Larson, NC State University
Mateo Rodriguez, Florida State University
Charlotte Rose, Jacksonville University

All-SAISA Open Skippers: Second Team

Gordon Gurnell, Jacksonville University
Hogan O’Donnell, NC State University
Humberto Porrata, University of South Florida
Axel Stordahl, College of Charleston

All-SAISA Women’s Skippers: First Team

Emily Allen, Jacksonville University
Charlotte Rose, Jacksonville University
Emma Shakespeare, University of South Florida
Olivia Sowa, NC State University
Grace Squires, College of Charleston

All-SAISA Women’s Skippers: Second Team

Sydney Monahan, University of South Florida
Eden Nykamp, Eckerd College
Kiera O’Reardon, College of Charleston

All-SAISA Crew (both Open and Women’s)
Grace Benzal, Jacksonville University
Caroline Bourgeois, Jacksonville University
Rori Bywater, Jacksonville University
Isabella du Plessis, NC State University
Grace Harden, University of Miami
Elizabeth Johnson, Jacksonville University
Lucy Klempen, College of Charleston
Katie Nelson, Florida State University
Pierce Ornstein, College of Charleston
Noelle Owen, College of Charleston
Carolina Perez Rovira, University of South Florida
Anna Sherry, College of Charleston
Olivia Smith, University of South Florida
Roxanne Snyder, College of Charleston
Olivia Sowa, NC State University
Kalea Woodard, College of Charleston


The ALL-SAISA Awards Committee includes:
Conner Blouin, College of Charleston
Allison Chenard, Univ. of Georgia
Esteban Forrer, Jacksonville Univ.
Nick Johnstone, The Citadel
Allison Jolly, Univ. of South Florida

Comments are closed.